Regular full-time employees in established management positions shall be entitled to take all authorized holidays at full pay, not to exceed eight (8) hours for any one

(1) day, provided they are in a full pay status on both their regularly scheduled workdays immediately preceding and following the holiday. Part-time employees shall be entitled to holiday pay in proportion to the average percentage of full- time hours worked during the two (2) pay periods immediately preceding the pay period, which includes the holiday. If two or more holidays fall on succeeding or alternate pay periods, then the average full-time hours worked in the two (2) pay periods immediately preceding the first holiday shall be used in determining the holiday pay entitlement for the subsequent holiday.

1) January 1 – (New Years Day)

2) Third Monday in January – (Martin Luther King Jr.’s Birthday)

3) Third Monday in February – (Washington’s Birthday)

4) Last Monday in May – (Memorial Day)

5) June 19th – (Juneteenth)

6) July 4 – (Independence Day)

7) First Monday in September – (Labor Day)

8) Second Monday in October** – (Columbus Day/Indigenous People’s Day)

9) November 11 – (Veterans Day)

10) Fourth Thursday in November – (Thanksgiving Day)

11) Friday following Thanksgiving Day

12) December 25 – (Christmas Day)

13) Every day appointed by the President of the United States or the Governor of the State of California to be a day of public mourning, thanksgiving, or holiday. The granting of such holidays shall be discretionary with the Board of Supervisors.

** Effective February, 2001, the Lincoln’s Birthday holiday was eliminated and replaced with a floating holiday (8 hours of holiday time) which will accrue on February 12. The floating holiday may be used starting in the first pay period that begins after February 12th.

If the legislature or the Governor appoints a date different from the one shown above for the observance of one of these holidays, then San Mateo County shall observe the holiday on the date appointed by the Legislature or the Governor.